8th Africa Nutritional Epidemiology Conference: Second Announcement & Call for Abstracts/Papers

The Africa Nutritional Epidemiology Conference (ANEC) is the leading regional nutrition conference in Africa held biennially in various parts of the continent. ANEC provides a forum for nutrition scientists, public health professionals, academics, students and field-based workers in Africa and the rest of the world to meet regularly to share their research findings and best practices and to build capacity to address nutritional challenges in Africa (the Africa Nutrition Agenda).

Additionally, ANEC has sought to build professional networks and partnerships to support nutrition programmes and projects in Africa. In 2008, it became necessary to have an oversight nutrition body with a registered status to oversee the activities of ANEC events. To this end the African Nutrition Society (ANS) was registered as a scientific professional body and initiated as a unified continental nutrition profession of individual members, to provide a continental professional scientific forum, promote training, research and capacity building in nutrition and contribute to workforce development to meet Africa’s nutrition and health policy agenda.

The ANS’ ultimate goal is to provide a home for nutritional scientists and other allied professionals, and contribute to programmes and projects aimed at improving nutrition in Africa and reducing the burden of disease. Through our efforts it is our hope the ANEC events will create a forum that will foster an atmosphere to promote collegiality and bring together individuals across Africa and other parts of the world to work together towards building and promoting the nutrition profession and practice in Africa. In 2018, The Ethiopian Nutrition Society, FONSE, will play host to our 8th ANEC Conference in Addis, Ethiopia, from October 1 – 5th, 2018

Conference Theme: “Multi-stakeholder nutrition actions in Africa: translating evidence into policies, and programmes for impact”

Conference sub-themes:
1.    Effective multi-sectoral actions in nutrition: best practices
2.    Multi-sectoral actions and biofortification in Africa
3.    Joint actions on maternal, infant and young child feeding – nutrition during the 1st 1000 days, and beyond
4.    Scaling up Nutrition (SUN): effective actions and best practices
5.    Food systems, food safety and value chain: policies, legislations and actions
6.    Nutrition-related NCDs, and benchmarking of food environment
7.    Partnership for food security, safety and sustainability in Africa
8.    Role of food industries, and biofortification in addressing malnutrition in Africa
9.    Nutrition policies, politics, and nutrition governance in Africa
10.    Double-duty actions for nutrition in Africa

Abstract Submission is open from December 30, 2017 till July 15, 2018. YOU MAY SUBMIT YOUR ABSTRACT(S) VIA THE “SUBMIT ABSTRACT” LINK ON ANEC.ANSNET.ORG

LOC Contacts

Kelbesse Urga, President, FoNSE and LOC Chair: kelbessaurga.fonse@gmail.com
FONSE Website: www.fonse.org
Conference Page: www.fonse.org/anec


Dr. Amos Laar, ANS President: president@ansnet.org / amos.laar@gmail.com
ANS Website: www.ansnet.org

ANEC VIII Conference Technical Secretariat: abstracts.anec8@ansnet.org
Website: www.anec.ansnet.org

Local Organizing committee

Scientific committee members:

  • Dr Dawd Gashu (Chair person)
  • Mr Dilnesaw Zerfu Co-Chair)
  • Dr Namukolo Covic (Secretary)
  • Mr Tesfaye Hailu
  • Dr Awoke Kebede
  • Dr Kebede Abegaz
  • Dr Afework Mulugeta
  • Dr Tsegaye Demissie
  • Mrs Zewditu Getahun
  • Dr Paulos Getachew
  • Mr Masresha Tesema

ANS Liaisons – ENGLISH – Robert Akparibo (r.akparibo@sheffield.ac.uk). FRENCH – Pr KANA SOP Marie Modestine (kanamod@yahoo.com)

Communication Committee

  • Mr Abinet Tekle (Chair person)
  • Mr Biniyam Tesfaye (Co-Chair)
  • Dr Dia Sanou
  • Mr Girmay Ayana
  • Ms Sofia Ibrahim

ANS Liaison on this sub-ccommittee- Tonderayi Mathew Matsungo (tmatsungo@gmail.com)

Resource Mobilization Committee

  • Dr Cherinet Abuye (Chair person)
  • Mr Solomon Eshetu (Co-chair)
  • Dr Sisay Sinamo
  • Dr Robert Fungo
  • Mr Birara Melese
  • Dr Akoto Osei
  • Mr Workicho Jateno

Dr Sisay Sinamo  and Prof. Francis Zotor also serve as ANS Liaisons on this sub-Committee

Logistics Committee

  • Mr Tewodros Girma(Chair person)
  • Mr Andinet Abera(Co-chair)
  • Mr Desalegn Kuche
  • Ms Sofia Ibrahim

ANS Liaison on this sub-Committee is Dr. Richmond Aryeetey (email rnokai@gmail.com)

International Team Supporting LOC

1. Prof Basma Ellahi (UK)
2. Dr Habiba Hassan-Wassef (Egypt)
3. Dr. Laila Lokosang African Union Commission (Ethiopia)
4. Dr. Amos Laar (Ghana)
5. Dr. Richmond Aryeetey (Ghana)
6. Dr. Tom Ndanu (Ghana)
7. Dr. Ali Jafri (Morocco)
8. Dr. Eric Elom Aglago (Togo/France)
9. Dr. Ella  Campaore (Burkina Faso)
10. Dr. Robert Fungo (Uganda/Ethiopia)
11. Dr. Nonsikelelo Mathe (Zimbabwe/Canada)
12. Mr. Frank E.A. Hayford (Ghana) – Frank also supports the ANS President as the Deputy Liaison Officer between ANS and LOC
13. Dr. Namukolo Covic (Zambia/Ethiopia)
14. Ms. Olufolakemi Anjorin / Student Affinity Liaison (olufolakemianjorin@gmail.com)

List of International Scientific Committee Members

1.    Dr Paul Amuna: Primary Health Care Corporation (PHCC) Qatar, Chairman of the International Scientific Committee
2.    Prof Alan Jackson; University of Southampton, UK International Advisor to the ANEC VIII Conference


1.    Mr. Kelbessa Urga, Ethiopia
2.    Dr. Cherinet Abuye, Ethiopia
3.    Dr. Kaleab Baye, Ethiopia
4.    Dr. Mihretab Salasibew, Ethiopia
5.    Dr Linley Chiwona-Karltun, Sweden
6.    Dr Thomas Adepoju, Nigeria
7.    Prof Judith Kimiywe, Kenya
8.    Prof Wilna Oldewage-Theron, USA
9.    Prof Abdellatif Bour, Morocco
10.    Prof. Mary Murimi, USA
11.    Prof. Francis Zotor, Ghana
12.    Dr. Amos Laar, Ghana
13.    Prof. Johann Jerling, South Africa
14.    Prof. Basma Ellahi UK
15.    Dr. Habiba Hassan-Wassef, Egypt
16.   Prof. Grace Marquis, Canada
17.    Dr. Victor Owino, Austria
18. Prof. Emile Sabiba Kou’santa Amouzou
19. Prof. Mamoudou H. Dicko
20. Prof. Alfred Traore

Registration Payment Details 1 (Bank Details)

Bank: United Bank for Africa (UBA)
Account Name: African Nutrition Society
Local cedi account: GHC – 0010158660 -1511
Dollar account: $  – 0010158660 -2213
Euro Account:  € – 0010158660 -4413
Swift Code: STBGHAC


Read about

1. How to Submit Abstract (How to submit an abstract or paper)
2. How to Create Account (How to create an account in order to submit an abstract) at this link: http://www.anec.ansnet.org/index.php/anec/index/announcement/view/5

Posted in Events, News.